Virtual Deadwood
Explore
Eat & Drink
Play
Events
Stay
History
Outdoors
Road Trips
Plan
Search Virtual Deadwood
Main Street under a blue sky, looking down a line of historic brick buildings

Transportation

How to get here, get around, and get home, including when there's no car waiting.

In town: the trolley

The city trolley costs $2 a ride or $8 for a day pass and reaches hotels, casinos, and lots inside city limits. It doesn't leave town.

Rideshare

Uber's own pages describe service both at RAP and in Deadwood, but warn that Deadwood pickups may take longer and that no driver is guaranteed; Uber suggests reserving ahead. RAP lists Uber, Lyft, and Wridz, and its taxi and rideshare pickup is on the median near the orange Taxi/Rideshare sign. Lyft has a Rapid City page, but nothing read confirms or rules out Lyft pickups in Deadwood. No source shows how many drivers actually work Deadwood, especially late at night or in winter, so check the app before you rely on it and keep a taxi number handy.

Uber

Uber warns that pickups in Deadwood may take longer than in larger cities and suggests reserving ahead. It says no driver is guaranteed to accept a request.

Notes
Uber's own pages describe service at RAP and in Deadwood.
Hours
Requests can be made at any time, but drivers are not guaranteed.
Price
Shown in the app.

Lyft

Call to confirm

Listed at RAP. Check the app for a Deadwood pickup before counting on it.

Notes
RAP lists Lyft, and Lyft has a Rapid City page. Neither mentions Deadwood.
Price
Shown in the app.

Taxis & shuttles

Book ahead when you can, especially late at night and in August.

Black Hills Grab-A-Cab

Deadwood taxi that also runs an airport shuttle; it asks riders to book ahead. RAP lists it among its taxis, and the Chamber lists it too.

Notes
Deadwood, Lead, other Northern Hills communities, Deer Mountain, Terry Peak, Sturgis, and RAP.
Price
No fares published.

Da Bus / Sturgis Transit

Seasonal

Rally-week bus service sold by wristband, with a stop finder on its site, plus private party bookings.

Notes
Sturgis, Deadwood, Whitewood, and Spearfish during the Rally. The Chamber listing adds Rapid City and the surrounding Black Hills.
Season
Most recent published Rally service: August 7-14, 2026. 2027 routes and dates were not posted when checked. Year-round public service was not confirmed.
Price
Rally rides use a wristband; no price shown on the pages read. Private parties by quote.

Giddy-Up and Go Shuttle

Group shuttle for weddings, parties, reunions, and similar occasions, listed by both the airport and the Chamber. Ask about airport runs by phone.

Notes
Black Hills per the Chamber listing, with no specific area named. RAP lists it as a shuttle, but neither source states a RAP-to-Deadwood fare or route.
Price
No prices published on the pages read.

Northern Hills Taxi

Local taxi that takes calls or texts and runs AWD and 4WD cars set up for snow and ice. It also handles airport runs, best booked ahead.

Notes
Deadwood, Lead, Spearfish, Sturgis, Whitewood, Central City, Terry Peak, Spearfish Canyon, the Highway 385 corridor, and flat-rate rides to and from RAP.
Season
Advises booking August Rally trips early.
Price
No fares published. Trips between known points are flat rates quoted at booking. Takes cards in the car and cash; late-night fares are collected up front.

Black Hills Taxi and Shuttle (A Black Hills Taxi)

Call to confirm

Chamber-listed taxi and shuttle. It shares a phone number with Dakota Shuttle.

Notes
Per the Chamber: the whole Black Hills, including Lead, Deadwood, Spearfish, Sturgis, Belle Fourche, and Rapid City, with airport runs to RAP and Black Hills Airport-Clyde Ice Field.

City Cab

Call to confirm

A taxi on the airport’s list. Ask whether it will run to Deadwood.

Notes
Serves RAP. Deadwood service not stated.

Dakota Shuttle

Call to confirm

On the Chamber’s transportation page. It shares a phone number with Black Hills Taxi and Shuttle, so it may be the same business.

Dakota Taxi

Call to confirm

On the Chamber’s transportation page. Call to confirm it is operating.

Deadwood Cab Company

Call to confirm

On the Chamber’s transportation page. Call to confirm it is operating.

Giddy Up Shuttle

Call to confirm

A separate Chamber entry from Giddy-Up and Go, with a different number. It asks for 24 hours’ notice when possible.

Notes
Per the Chamber: the Black Hills, naming Custer, Belle Fourche, and Sioux Falls. Airport service is not mentioned.
Price
Custom wedding packages; no prices listed.

Rapid Taxi

Call to confirm

Rapid City taxi on the RAP list. Ask whether it will run to Deadwood.

Notes
Rapid City and the Black Hills, and trips beyond by estimate. Deadwood is not named.
Hours
24 hours, 7 days a week (operator's site)
Price
No fares published; call for an estimate.

Sunny's Transportation

Call to confirm

Rapid City transportation company offering airport transfers and limousine service. RAP lists it under taxis.

Notes
Based in Rapid City and says it serves the entire area, with airport transfers. Deadwood is not named.
Hours
24/7 (operator's site)
Price
No prices published.

Airport transfers

Rapid City Regional (RAP) is about 52 miles and an hour from Deadwood. Several taxis above also make the run.

Rapid Express Shuttle (RapidShuttle)

Airport shuttle with online booking and a published Deadwood rate. RAP lists it among its shuttles.

Notes
The Black Hills and surrounding areas, including Deadwood, Keystone, Sturgis, and Spearfish.
Price
Published one-way rate, RAP to Deadwood: $160 for 1-2 people; $50 per person for 3 or more. Any luggage or gratuity terms are not stated.

Apex Transportation

Call to confirm

Rapid City company offering an airport shuttle by quote. RAP lists it under shuttles.

Notes
Based in Rapid City. Deadwood is not named.
Price
By quote.

Black Hills Black Car

Call to confirm

On the airport’s shuttle list. Ask whether it will run to Deadwood.

Notes
Serves RAP. Deadwood service not stated.

Hot Wheels Transportation Service

Call to confirm

On the airport’s shuttle list. Ask whether it will run to Deadwood.

Notes
Serves RAP. Deadwood service not stated.

Touring in the Black Hills

Call to confirm

On the airport’s shuttle list. Ask whether it will run to Deadwood.

Notes
Serves RAP. Deadwood service not stated.

Hotel & casino shuttles

The one we could find is below. Ask your hotel directly, because most don’t post this online.

The Lodge at Deadwood (hotel shuttle)

Call to confirm

The airport names it among hotels with shuttles and tells guests to contact the hotel before arrival to arrange pickup. Ask about any charge.

Notes
RAP names it among hotels with shuttles. The hotel's amenities page describes a trolley with stops at Deadwood attractions and does not mention airport transfers.
Price
Whether there is a charge is not stated on either source.

Car rentals

Most are at or near RAP. Book ahead for summer and rally week.

Alamo

Airport rental counter. Same phone number as National.

Notes
On-airport counter at RAP, near baggage claim.

Avis

Airport rental counter.

Notes
On-airport counter at RAP, near baggage claim.

Black Hills Car Rentals

Call when you get off the plane. Return rides to the airport run during business hours.

Notes
Off-airport, Rapid City area. A shuttle meets customers outside RAP baggage claim.

Black Hills Rent A Wreck

Call ahead to arrange pickup.

Notes
Off-airport, with pickup by arrangement.

Budget

Airport rental counter.

Notes
On-airport counter at RAP, near baggage claim.

Enterprise Rent-A-Car

Airport rental counter.

Notes
On-airport counter at RAP, near baggage claim.

Enterprise Rent-A-Car, Spearfish

The closest rental branch found, useful if you need a car after you've arrived in Deadwood.

Notes
814 N Ames St, Ste 1, Spearfish. The branch names Deadwood and Lead among the areas it serves and lists pickup service and after-hours returns.
Hours
Mon-Fri 2-5 p.m.; closed Sat-Sun, per the branch page when checked. These short hours may change, so confirm before planning around them.
Price
Minimum age 21; $25 per day surcharge for ages 21-24.

Hertz

Airport rental counter.

Notes
On-airport counter at RAP, near baggage claim.

National

Airport rental counter. Same phone number as Alamo.

Notes
On-airport counter at RAP, near baggage claim.

Team Car Rentals

Call or text on landing, or at the carousel if you have checked bags.

Notes
Off-airport, about 8 miles from RAP, with airport pickup and return during normal business hours.

Turo

Call to confirm

Peer-to-peer car sharing named by the airport. Availability depends on local owners.

Notes
Listed by RAP under rideshare and vehicle share. Availability depends on local vehicle owners.

Parking rates

WhereRateWhen
Broadway Parking Ramp, 630 Broadway$5.00 for 24 hoursOctober 1 - April 30
Broadway Parking Ramp, 630 Broadway$10.00 for 24 hoursMay 1 - September 30
Broadway Parking Ramp, 630 Broadway$15.00 for 24 hoursSpecial event weekends set by annual City Commission resolution. Those dates were not read.
Broadway Parking Ramp$50.00 per month plus taxMonthly ramp permit
Kiosks, general$1.00 per hour2026. Includes Upper Main Street (Pine to Armory) per the city street-parking page. The schedule does not list which other streets or lots use this rate.
Kiosks, Lower Main Street$2.00 per hour2026
Flat-rate parking lots$5.00 for 24 hours2026. The schedule does not name which lots are flat-rate, so check the kiosk.
Trailer parking permit, all lots except Deadwood Hill$10.00 for 24 hours2026
Overnight validation permit, side streets$5.00 for 24 hours2026
Free lotsFreeWelcome Center, Sherman Street, Deadwood Event Complex, Deadwood Hill Trail Head, South Gateway (Pluma), and Mount Moriah (parking only; entry is paid). The History and Information Center lot has some free 20-minute spaces.

From the 2026 city fee schedule. 2027 rates may change. For lots, rules, and vehicle limits, see parking and getting around.

How far things are

From Deadwood toMilesAbout
Lead3.45 min
Sturgis13.616 min
Spearfish15.119 min
Rapid City41.446 min
Rapid City Regional Airport (RAP)5260 min

Estimates that don't allow for traffic or weather. They run optimistic in winter and during the rally. See road trips for more.

Flying in

  • Getting picked up at RAP: Leave through the front door. Taxis and rideshares use the median by the orange sign; shuttles use the median by the purple sign. Book Deadwood rides in advance. The airport has rental counters near baggage claim. Source
  • Flights into RAP: American, Delta, Allegiant, United, and Sun Country serve RAP. Year-round routes on the airport's page are Dallas/Fort Worth, Denver, Minneapolis/St. Paul, Las Vegas, and Phoenix/Mesa. Other routes are seasonal, so check the airport's page for your dates. Source

Winter driving

  • Check roads before you drive: SDDOT's traveler system is at sd511.org, by dialing 511, or in its mobile app. Check it for winter conditions, closures, and construction before you leave. Source
  • What winter road terms mean: SDDOT uses No Travel Advised when conditions are unavoidably hazardous or impassable, and Maintenance Suspended when plows have temporarily stopped on a route. Road Impassable and Road Blocked mean you physically can't get through. Treat these as a reason to wait, and check sd511.org for the route you need. Source
  • Plow hours: SDDOT's winter flyer says that during a storm, when conditions allow, plows run from 5 a.m. to 7 p.m., with extended hours on some busy routes around Sioux Falls and Rapid City. Don't count on cleared roads overnight. The flyer dates from 2021. Source

Sturgis Rally week

  • Sturgis Rally 2027: The official rally site lists the 87th Sturgis Motorcycle Rally for August 6-15, 2027. Book rides, rooms, and rental cars early. Source
  • Rally traffic: SDDOT counted 448,166 vehicles entering Sturgis over the 10 days of the 2026 rally, with the busiest day at 58,519. In 2026 it lowered I-90 to 65 mph between exit 55 in Rapid City and exit 30 at Sturgis, and added temporary signals at eight locations. 2027 measures haven't been announced on the pages read, so check sd511.org closer to the rally. Source
  • Getting home during the Rally: Da Bus sold wristbands for Rally rides in 2026, serving Sturgis, Deadwood, Whitewood, and Spearfish. Northern Hills Taxi advises booking August Rally trips early. Check for 2027 details closer to the date. Source

Last checked 2026-11-02 on the web. We didn't phone each operator, so "Call to confirm" means exactly that. Tell us about a correction.